Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Archiving a conversation

Last updated:

You can archive a conversation in Circuit (1-to-1 or group conversation, Conference Bridge or Community) in order to hide it from the active conversation list. Archived conversations are separated from your other, active conversations and displayed in a different view (Archived). You can still be a member of an archived conversation and participate in at any time.

Once a group conversation, Conference Bridge or Community is archived, you will no longer receive desktop notifications for this. Active conference calls that have started from an archived group conversation or Conference Bridge are displayed at the top of the conversation selector only when you are viewing your Archived conversations. When someone rings you out on a Circuit client trying to add you in such a conference call in progress, i.e. a call that has started from an archived group conversation or Conference Bridge, the active call is displayed at the top of the conversation selector regardless of the conversation filter selected.

You can unarchive a conversation (1-to-1 or group conversation, Conference Bridge or Community) anytime you want.

  1. To archive a conversation:

     

    On the web client and Desktop App:

    • Select the conversation that you want to archive, click Details and, then, Archive conversation.

     

    On the iOS mobile client, choose one of the following:

    • Select the conversation that you want to archive, tap , then Conversation details and, then, switch the Archive conversation slider to ON (green).

    • Navigate to the conversation selector, swipe left on the conversation that you want to archive and, then, tap the archive icon .

     

    On the Android mobile client, choose one of the following:

    • Select the conversation that you want to archive, tap , then Conversation details and, then, switch the Archive conversation slider to ON (green).

    • Navigate to the conversation selector, perform a long press on the conversation that you want to archive and, then, tap Archive conversation.

  2. To view your archived conversations, click or tap the down arrow at the top of the conversation selector and, then, select Archived or Archived conversations.
  3. To unarchive a conversation:

     

    On the web client and Desktop App:

    • Select the conversation that you want to unarchive, click Details and, then, Unarchive.

     

    On the iOS mobile client, choose one of the following:

    • Select the conversation that you want to unarchive, tap , then Conversation details and, then, switch the Archive conversation slider to OFF (gray).

    • Navigate to the conversation selector, swipe left on the conversation that you want to unarchive and, then, tap the unarchive icon .

     

    On the Android mobile client, choose one of the following:

    • Select the conversation that you want to unarchive, tap , then Conversation details and, then, switch the Archive conversation slider to OFF (gray).

    • Navigate to the conversation selector, perform a long press on the conversation that you want to unarchive and, then, tap Unarchive.

Note:

When you leave a group conversation or Conference Bridge, it is automatically archived and you will not be able to interact with other participants or receive new messages in that conversation unless you are added again.

Note:

Whenever there is activity in an archived 1-to-1 conversation or whenever someone mentions you in an archived group conversation, Conference Bridge or Community, the conversation is automatically unarchived and shows up again in the active conversation list.

33 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all