Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Sharing your screen (web client and Desktop App)

Last updated:

You can share your screen during an active call at any time.

Prerequisites:
  1. To enable screen share in an active call, click the Screen share icon from the call action bar.

    This brings up a dialog box that displays, as thumbnails, the screens and application windows on your computer which are available for sharing. If you are using Circuit with Google Chrome, the dialog box displays, also, your browser's tabs.

    Note:

    Only application windows that are owned by a specific process running on your operating system are displayed in the screen sharing dialog box. Modal dialogs (i.e., windows for which there is not a separate process, like dialog boxes or popup menus) are not displayed.

    Application windows that are owned by a specific process running on your computer are listed in the Task Manager in your Microsoft Windows or in Activity Monitor in your Apple Mac OS X system

  2. Choose what you would like to share:
    1. Select the thumbnail of the whole screen, specific application or Chrome tab you wish to share.
    2. When you select to share the whole screen via your Desktop App, optionally, un-tick the default setting Enable mouse pointer.
    3. Click Share.

    The call participants can now see the shared screen. When you are sharing the whole screen, participants can see every application and or window that is currently displayed in your selected screen. When you are sharing an application, only the selected application will be displayed to other call participants. Similarly, when you are sharing a Chrome tab, only that tab will be displayed.

    Note:

    When you are sharing an application and you open a new window from within the application, the new window can be viewed by call participants only in case it is a modal dialog window (it requires, also, Chrome v58 or higher).

    In case the new window opens a new process in your operating system, you need to select it in the screen sharing dialog box in order to share it with call participants.

     

    As initiator of the screen sharing session, you will see a thumbnail of the shared screen displayed next to the Screen share icon on the call action bar.

    When you are sharing your screen using Circuit with Google Chrome, a notification message informs you that your screen is now being shared. To hide this message, click Hide in the notification popup.

    When you are sharing the whole screen via your Desktop App, unless you un-tick the default setting Enable mouse pointer, participants, on any client, can click the screen to draw attention to the specific points. Clicks are shown to all conference participants alongside their names.

    Note:

    All desktop and audio notifications are automatically disabled (snoozed) when screen sharing is active. When you stop sharing your screen, notifications are automatically enabled again, and a corresponding message is displayed.

  3. To change the screen you wish to share, hover with the mouse pointer over the thumbnail of the shared screen. A tooltip will be displayed. Click on the thumbnail of the shared screen to open the dialog box showing the screens available for sharing. Select a screen you wish to share; optionally un-tick the setting Enable mouse pointer (this setting is only available when you are sharing your screen via your Desktop App); click Share.
  4. To enable / disable the mouse pointer while a screen is being shared:
    1. To enable the mouse pointer, click on the call action bar, and then Enable mouse pointer.

      Participant's mouse clicks on the shared screen are shown to all conference participants (alongside their names).

    2. To disable the mouse pointer, click on the call action bar, and then Disable mouse pointer. Participant's mouse clicks on the shared screen are no longer shown to the conference participants.
    Note:

    Enabling / disabling the mouse pointer is only possible when screen sharing is initiated from the Desktop App and only by the initiator.

  5. To stop sharing your screen:
    • click the Screen share icon on the call action bar, or

    • (if you are using Circuit with Google Chrome) click Stop sharing in the notification popup.

As a participant in a screen share, you can toggle between Full Screen view and Normal view. To change to Full Screen view, hover with the mouse pointer over the screen share avatar and click the Maximize icon. To return to Normal view mode, hover with the mouse pointer over the Full Screen view and click anywhere on it.

Note:

Your view of the shared screen is automatically scaled to fit your screen. However, when the shared screen resolution is quite low, the view is scaled up to a certain point before loosing quality. That is why the shared screen may not always fit your screen, leaving a lot of empty space around it.

13 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all