Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Adding participants to a group conversation

Last updated:

A group conversation is a conversation between three or more participants. You can start a group conversation by adding more people to your 1-to- 1 conversation.

Prerequisites:
  • You can add someone to a conversation only if you are a current member of that conversation. You cannot add participants to conversations you have left or Community conversations you have not joined yourself.

  • You cannot add someone to a conversation if you are an external participant in that conversation (i.e. you are in a different domain than the domain in which a conversation resides).

  • When you add someone to a 1-to-1 conversation, a new group conversation is created. This ensures that your original conversation remains private and cannot be viewed by anyone else.

  • When you add people to a group conversation, they can view the entire conversation history.

  1. Select the group conversation to which you want to add someone, or create a new group conversation.
  2. On the web client and Desktop App:
    • Click on the conversation header.

    • Search for the person or people that you want to add to the conversation or select the names from the Suggestions list.

      As you type in a person’s name, a list of suggested names is displayed along with the person’s status, so that you quickly see if they are available.

    • Select the name of the person you want to add to the group conversation and click Add. Everyone that you add will be able view the entire conversation history.

  3. On the iOS mobile client:
    • Tap and select Conversation details.

    • Tap Add participant and type the name of the person or people you want to add to the conversation or select a name from the suggested list.
    • Tap Done. Everyone that you add will be able view the entire conversation history.

  4. On the Android mobile client:
    • Tap and tap Conversation details.

    • Tap Add participant and type the name of the person or people you want to add to the conversation or select a name from the suggested list.
    • Tap

      . Everyone that you add will be able view the entire conversation history.

Other useful things you can do while in a conference

  • Join, rejoin or leave a conference
  • Add video or screen share
  • Mute or unmute the microphone
  • Write a text message, share files and images
  • Accept other incoming conference participation requests

2 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all