Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Recording audio, video and screen sharing

Last updated:

During a group conversation, you can record the audio, video and screen sharing portion of a conference. All participants of the conversation can listen to or see the recording on demand, as well as download, distribute or edit the recording locally.

Since recordings are considered a common resource of a conference, everyone who is participating in the conference has the opportunity to start, stop, resume or delete the shared copy of the recordings. In case, though, the group conversation is moderated, only moderators are allowed to start, stop, resume or delete the conference recordings.

Note:

Once someone starts to record a conference, it is visible to all the participants of that conference. The participants that are joining the conference by phone will only hear a prompt.

You can always leave a conference that is being recorded, no matter who (you or someone else) has started that recording. The recording will continue unaffectedly until the conference ends or another participant stops it.

  1. To start recording audio, video and screen share during a conference, navigate to the Other options menu and select Start recording.
    • On the web client and Desktop App, the Other options menu is located in the bottom-left area of the conference view.

    • On the mobile client, the Other options menu is located in the bottom-right area of the conference view.

    The recording status in the bottom-left (on the web client and Desktop App), bottom-middle (on the iOS mobile client) or upper-middle (on the Android mobile client) area of the conference view indicates the duration of the recording.

    All participants of a conference are informed about the ongoing recording via notification. On the invited participant's device, the message Recording conference is displayed under the conversation title in the conversation selector. Also, a message related to the started recording appears in the upper area of the conference screen.

  2. At any time during an active conference, any participant of the conference can stop or resume the recording unless the conversation is moderated. In that latter case, only moderators are allowed to stop or resume the conference recording, as follows:
    1. To stop or pause recording, navigate to the Other options menu and select Stop recording.

      The recording status indicates that the recording has been paused.

    2. To continue recording, navigate to the Other options menu and select Resume recording.

Once the conference ends, the recording is stopped automatically. A recording will be processed and attached to the conversation feed, available for everyone in the group conversation to access.

Note:

When a conversation is moderated, the options Start recording, Stop recording and Resume recording, which can be accessed via the Other options menu during an active conference, are only available to moderators.

51 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all