Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Removing a participant from a group conversation

Last updated:
You can remove a participant who is no longer active in your group conversation or Conference Bridge. When you remove a participant, they can still see the conversation history up until the point that they were removed. However, they can no longer view any updates to the conversation nor they can access all the conversation details in the conversation information pane, such as the pinned topics and conference details. To rejoin the conversation or Conference Bridge, the person must be added by another participant.
  1. Select the group conversation or Conference Bridge from which you want to remove a participant, and then do the following:
    • On the web client and Desktop App, navigate to the conversation Details tab and select Participants. Select the drop-down arrow adjacent to the name of the participant you want to remove and click Remove from the drop-down list.

      Alternatively, navigate to > Participants. Hover over the name of the participant you want to remove, and then click Remove.

    • On the iOS mobile client, tap . Swipe the name of the participant you want to remove to the left, and then tap Remove.

    • On the Android mobile client, tap Conversation details, then Conversation details > Participants, and then tap the X button to the right of the name of the participant you want to remove.

  2. To add the participant back into the group conversation or Conference Bridge, do the following:
    • On the web client and Desktop App, click on the conversation header, enter the name of the person or select their name from the Suggestions list, and click Add participant.

      Alternatively, navigate to > Participants. Hover over the name of the participant you want to add back to the conversation and then click Add participant.

    • On the iOS mobile client, tap Add participant, and then type the name of the person or select their name from the list of recent contacts.

    • On the Android mobile client, tap Conversation details, then Conversation details > Participants, and then tap Previous to the right of the name of the participant you want to add back into group conversation or Conference Bridge. Finally, on the pop-up box, tap Add.

      Alternatively, you add a participant back to the conversation by tapping , then Conversation details > Add participant, then typing the name of the person you want to add back to the conversation or selecting their name from the suggested list and tapping .

    Once added back into the group conversation or Conference Bridge, the person can view the entire conversation history, including all updates that occurred between when they were removed and when they rejoined, and all converation details.

4 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all