Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Starting a group conversation

Last updated:

A group conversation can have multiple participants. You can start with a conversation without participants and add participants later, or add them when creating the conversation. Participants that are added later can see the full history of the conversation. In the group conversation you can add, remove, delete participants, delete yourself or leave the conversation at any time.

 
  1. Click or tap the green plus icon () and
    1. on the web client and Desktop App select Group
    2. on the iOS mobile client select New group conversation ()
    3. on the Android mobile select New group conversation ()
  2. Type a title for the conversation.
  3. Type the names or email addresses of two or more people that you want to start a conversation with or select their names from the list of recent contacts.

    In the list of recent contacts, a green circle is shown around a person’s avatar to indicate that the person is Online/ Mobile - Online; a red circle indicates that the person is On a call/ Mobile - On a call or on Do not disturb mode; an orange circle indicates that the person is Away.

    As you type in a person’s name, a list of suggested names is displayed to select from.

    On the web client and Desktop App, you can, also, copy and paste a list of email addresses separated by space, comma, semicolon, tab, or new line, into the Add participant field. If an email address does not match any account, it will be marked in red so that you know it should be corrected or the person cannot be added to the conversation.

  4. On the web client and Desktop App, type, optionally, a description for the conversation.
  5. Click or tap:
    1. Start a conversation icon on the web client and Desktop App
    2. Start on the iOS mobile client
    3. on the Android mobile client

A new group conversation will be created.

Note:

If you add a third person to an existing direct conversation, a new group conversation will be created. This ensures that your original conversation remains private and cannot be viewed by anyone else.

Note:

If you want to start a conference with a large amount of participants you may create an event. For more information, see Creating an event.

11 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all