Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Organizing conversations

Last updated:

All of your interactions in Circuit are organized into three basic categories:

  • Conversations - represent private discussions where only persons that have been added to the conversation can participate. Conversation can be either 1-to-1 or a group conversation.
    • The 1-to-1 conversation is a conversation with only two participants, i.e. you and one more participant.

    • A group conversation is a conversation between three or more participants. You can start a group conversation by adding more people to your 1-to-1 conversation. In a group conversation you can add and remove participants or leave the conversation at any time.

  • Communities - represent open conversations that anyone in your domain can join without having to be added (as opposed to the group conversations). You can create your own Community or search and join an existing one.

  • Conference Bridge – looks the same as any other conversation. The only difference is that it allows you to start a conference as the only participant and then later, add other participants. The participants can have also a guest access to your Conference Bridge.

In the conversation selector, the aforementioned categories are arranged in the following pre-defined groups:

  • Conversations

    All Communities, conversations and Conference Bridges that you are actively participating in, can be found here, grouped into:

    1. Communities

    2. Flagged messages

      You can flag a message in a conversation, for follow up, so that you can respond to it later.

    3. Conversations

      Contain 1-to-1 and group conversations, as well as Conference Bridges that you are actively participating in and you are receiving notifications on. Conversations are managed automatically by the system so that the most active conversations appear at the top and the inactive conversations appear at the bottom.

  • Archived

    This is where all Communities, conversations and Conference Bridges that you no longer want to appear in the active conversation list can be found. You can still be a member of these conversations and participate in at any time.

Further to the above, you can organize your conversations in a way that best suits your needs using labels. You can add labels to your conversations so as to group them together in user-defined groups. Labels work much like folders but unlike them you can add more than one label to a conversation. For more information, please refer to Organizing your conversations using labels (web client and Desktop App) and Organizing your conversations using labels (mobile client). Labels appear as menu options when you click or tap the down arrow  at the top of the conversation selector.

8 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all