Welcome
Guest
FAQ Forum Developers Sign In

Moderating a conversation

Last updated:

In cases where the conversation topic is confidential and you need to keep the sensitive information within a closed group of people, use the Moderated conversation feature. It allows you to control who participates in a conversation.

Prerequisites:
  • Any group or Conference Bridge conversation can be moderated by one or more participants.

  • Any participant of a conversation (except the Guest users) can become a moderator of the conversation.

  • When a group or Conference Bridge conversation is moderated, only moderators can add or remove other people, start, stop, resume or delete conference recordings, and change the conversation title or avatar.

  • Adding a new or removing an existing moderator requires you to be a moderator of the conversation.
  • Any moderator of the conversation can turn off moderation.
  1. To moderate an unmoderated conversation:
    • On the web and desktop client, click the Details tab and switch the Moderated conversation slider to ON (green).

    • On the iOS mobile client, tap , then tap Conversation details and switch the Moderated conversation slider to ON (green).

    • On the Android mobile client, tap , then tap Conversation details and switch the Moderated conversation slider to ON (green).

    You are now a moderator of the conversation. In order to inform other participants that the conversation is moderated, the word “moderated” is displayed beneath the conversation title. Also, a system message is automatically posted to the conversation to inform about the new moderator.

  2. To add a new moderator:
    • On the web and desktop client, click the Details tab, select the drop-down arrow adjacent to the name of the participant you want to add as moderator, and click Assign as moderator.

    • On the iOS mobile client, tap , then tap Conversation details > Participants, swipe left on the name of the participant you want to add as moderator, and tap Assign as moderator.

    The participant becomes one of the moderators for that conversation. A system message is automatically posted to the conversation to inform about the new moderator.

  3. To remove a moderator:
    • On the web and desktop client, click the Details tab, select the drop-down arrow adjacent to the name of the participant you want to remove as moderator, and click Remove as moderator.

    • On the iOS mobile client, tap , then tap Conversation details > Participants, swipe left on the name of the participant you want to remove as moderator, and tap Remove as moderator.

    The participant is no more a moderator for that conversation. A system message is automatically posted to the conversation to inform about the removed moderator.

  • If you, as a moderator, no longer want this conversation to be moderated, make sure that the Moderated conversation switch is OFF.

    Moderation is then turned off. The word “moderated” is no longer displayed beneath the conversation title. A system message is automatically posted to the conversation to inform participants that the conversation is no longer being moderated.

Note: To end an active conference that has been moderated by you, click the Leave button (upper-right corner of the conference view) and select the option End conference from the drop-down list. Every other participant will be, then, disconnected from the conference.

41 people found this useful.
Me too / Not at all